Trump to withdraw US from Open Skies arms control treaty

The expected withdrawal will be the latest move by the Trump administration to remove the US from a major global treaty.14 hours ago

United States President Donald Trump arriving to speak about the coronavirus during a press briefing in the Rose Garden of the White House in Washington, DC [Alex Brandon/AP Photo]
United States President Donald Trump arriving to speak about the coronavirus during a press briefing in the Rose Garden of the White House in Washington, DC [Alex Brandon/AP Photo]

The United States announced its intention on Thursday to withdraw from the 35-nation Open Skies treaty allowing unarmed surveillance flights over member countries, the latest move by the administration of US President Donald Trump to pull the country out of a major global treaty.

The administration said Russia has repeatedly violated the pact’s terms. Senior officials said the pullout will formally take place in six months, based on the treaty’s withdrawal terms.


“I think we have a very good relationship with Russia. But Russia didn’t adhere to the treaty. So until they adhere we will pull out,” Trump told reporters.

He said there was a “very good chance we’ll make a new agreement or do something to put that agreement back together.”


Russia said the US withdrawal from the Open Skies treaty will affect the interests of all of its participants, who are also members of NATO, according to the RIA state news agency.

Russia has not violated the treaty and nothing prevents the continuation of talks on technical issues that the US says are the violations by the Russian side, RIA quoted Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Alexander Grushko as saying.

New round of nuclear negotiations?

NATO allies and other countries such as Ukraine have pressed Washington to remain in the treaty, and Trump’s decision could aggravate tensions within the alliance.

The administration also pulled the US out of the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty with Russia last year.

Trump administration officials, speaking on condition of anonymity to a small group of reporters, said the decision to withdraw from the Open Skies treaty followed a six-month review that found multiple instances of Russian refusal to comply with the pact.

“During the course of this review it has become abundantly clear that it is no longer in America’s interests to remain a party to the Open Skies treaty,” said one of the officials.

Another administration official said extensive discussions were held with US allies leading up to the decision but ultimately Washington decided “it is no longer in our interest” to participate in it.

At the same time, the official said US officials had begun talks in recent days with their Russian counterparts about a new round of nuclear arms negotiations to “begin crafting the next generation of nuclear arms control measures”.

“The United States is committed to arms control. We are committed to European security. And we are committed to a future that puts meaningful constraints on nuclear weapons,” the official said.

Some experts worry that a US exit from the Open Skies treaty, which will halt Russian overflights of the US, could prompt Moscow’s withdrawal, which would end overflights of Russia by the remaining members, weakening European security at a time when Russian-backed separatists are holding parts of Ukraine and Georgia.

Trump’s decision to leave the treaty is “premature and irresponsible,” said Daryl Kimball, the head of the Arms Control Association.

The Open Skies treaty, proposed by US President Dwight Eisenhower in 1955, was signed in 1992 and took effect in 2002. Its idea is to let member nations make surveillance flights over each other’s countries to build trust.

The 35 state parties to the Open Skies treaty are: Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the US.

Source aljzeera

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!